Mike C

Mike C
Mike C

I applied for the traineeship because it presented a perfect opportunity to build upon the volunteering experience I had gained in the conservation sector and complimented my studies perfectly.

Prior to beginning the traineeship, I had switched careers from working within health education and had embarked on a foundation degree in Ecology and Conservation Management at Myerscough college. I also volunteered with several conservation organisations alongside my studies.

The traineeship was the perfect placement for enabling me to further develop the skills I had acquired through volunteering and studying. It enabled me to develop new skills in managing and coordinating practical conservation tasks, community engagement and grant funding.

For anyone considering the traineeship I would say go for it! Carbon Landscape is a truly ambitious and wholly relevant project to be part of. It will equip you with the experience of a broad range of roles within environmental conservation and provide challenges that will help you to develop personally and professionally as well as building a great network of likeminded professionals within a friendly and dynamic group of colleagues across a range of organisations.

I am now working for the Lancashire Wildlife Trust as their Merseyside Reserves Officer and I am really enjoying it.

Leave a comment